At a glance
What Oklahoma sold
Oklahoma publishes two sales figures and this chart draws both, because they are not two measurements of the same thing and neither is a correction of the other. Metrc retail is the headline: measured sales by the month they happened, from the dashboard OMMA links from its own page and does not itself serve — so every figure on that line is vendor data, not state-published. Implied by excise is the state's own: OMMA's monthly SQ 788 receipts with the statutory rate divided back out. It reaches back to the first month OMMA published a tax row, years before the vendor's window opens.
Monthly retail sales, two figures
The two lines do not agree, and they are never averaged. One is measured at the till and the other is inferred from a tax remittance, so a gap between them is structural. The comparability notes below carry the measured band at both possible month alignments; nothing here reconciles the two or splices them into one series.
The state's month is undefined. OMMA labels its tax rows with a month and does not say whether that is the month of sale or the month the money was remitted. Oklahoma law requires dispensaries to remit after the month closes, and the fit against the vendor's series is tighter when the tax month is matched to the previous sales month — a strong hint, not a confirmation. Until OMMA answers, the implied line appears on this page and stays off the cross-state chart.
Why the vendor line is short. The dashboard exposes only a rolling window of monthly rows. Everything older has already rolled off it, and the Metrc history between the vendor's own start month and the first archived capture of the page is gone for good. This site archives the page daily, so the window only grows from here.
What is selling
Retail sales by product category
The years before the windowannual
The vendor also publishes calendar-year totals reaching back past its own rolling window. This is the only view of Oklahoma's earlier Metrc history that survives, and it is drawn on its own axis: a year is not twelve months of this site's monthly line, and nothing here divides one into the other.
Calendar-year totals, retail and wholesale
Wholesale is drawn beside retail, never inside it. The vendor's own caption says its combined total mixes retail transactions with wholesale purchases; this site keeps them as separate fields with separate roles so a wholesale figure can never reach a retail headline.
The first Metrc year is missing on purpose. The vendor states the month its Metrc data begins, and the calendar year containing that month is a part-year. It is declared as a partial period and excluded rather than drawn as a low year.
What the state collects
Both columns are OMMA's own, published on the same page and going back to the first month it recorded either. The SQ 788 excise is the cannabis-specific one: OMMA's FAQ calls it an excise for retail medical marijuana sales, collected at the point of sale. The state and local sales tax is the ordinary retail tax a buyer pays on anything, at a rate OMMA says varies by municipality and county — so it is shown here and never joined to another state's tax figure.
Monthly cannabis tax
The excise rate is read from OMMA's page on every run. The implied-sales line on the chart above divides by whatever rate OMMA's own FAQ states, not by a constant written into this site. A legislated change would move the derived series instead of quietly producing plausible figures from the wrong divisor.
The first month is a published zero, and it stays a zero. OMMA's earliest tax row records no excise beside a non-zero sales-tax figure on the same line. The zero is what the regulator published, so the tax series keeps it — but dividing it by the rate would assert a month with no retail sales at all, which the sales-tax column on that same row contradicts, so the implied-sales line draws a gap there instead and says why.
Who holds a licence
A point-in-time count of active patient licences, as of the last day of each month. OMMA's own FAQ says its snapshots typically describe the previous month end, and this site keys every edition to the month it describes rather than to the day it was posted.
Active patient licences
This line moves in both directions, and a fall is not a fault. Patient licences expire as well as being issued, so the count drops whenever renewals lag new registrations. The comparability notes below carry the measured count of rises and falls; the pipeline logs a decline as a notice and never as an error.
It is a count of licences, not of buyers. Nothing here says how many people bought anything in a month, and the figure must not be read as one. It shares Maryland's measure and not the District's, which counts cumulative registrations and only ever rises.
Who holds a business licence
OMMA's monthly census, by licence type. OMMA's own FAQ dates a moratorium on new dispensary, grower and processor licences from 26 August 2022 under HB 3208 (2022); HB 2095 (2023) set its end date at 1 August 2026, unless OMMA's Executive Director determined that every pending review, inspection and investigation was complete. OMMA states the moratorium does not affect current licensees, who can apply for renewal. What OMMA does not publish is what happened at that end date — and a count of active licences cannot tell you, because this chart shows how many licences exist in each month, not how many were applied for or refused.
Commercial licences by type
The vendor publishes these too, and they agree. The dashboard's licence-by-type card and OMMA's census are checked against each other on every run for the types both carry. The state's figures are the ones drawn here; the vendor's are the check.
OMMA's own Total column is not a business-licence count. It adds patients and caregivers to every commercial type, so it is orders of magnitude larger than anything on this chart and is carried in the data file without ever being drawn as a licence figure.
Where these figures come from
Sourcing, basis and comparabilityMedical only. Every licence type either publisher names is prefixed "Medical", and OMMA's own tax FAQ describes the SQ 788 levy as an excise "for retail medical marijuana sales". Oklahoma's headline sales figure does not come from the state: OMMA publishes a tax table and a licence census, and links a private vendor's dashboard for the sales, weights and product mix.
Basis — Medicinal retail sales by sales month, Metrc-derived, vendor-reported
- Measurement
- vendor_reported
- Money
- unstated
- Tax
- unstated
- Period
- calendar_month
- Scope
- retail_only
- Geography
- statewide
- Channels
- medical
Why an axis above reads unstated: Full-text search of the vendor page for 'after tax', 'before tax', 'discount', 'gross', 'methodolog', 'month in which', 'net of', 'remit' and 'sales month' returns zero hits on each. The page carries a legal disclaimer and no methodology, so whether the figures are gross or net of discounts, and whether they include the state and local sales tax the buyer pays, is not stated. A checked negative, not an omission. An undocumented basis is a gap to be labelled, never filled in with the most likely answer.
Basis — Wholesale purchases reported into Metrc, by month
- Measurement
- vendor_reported
- Money
- unstated
- Tax
- unstated
- Period
- calendar_month
- Scope
- wholesale_only
- Geography
- statewide
- Channels
- medical
Why an axis above reads unstated: Full-text search of the vendor page for 'after tax', 'before tax', 'discount', 'gross', 'methodolog', 'month in which', 'net of', 'remit' and 'sales month' returns zero hits on each. The page carries a legal disclaimer and no methodology, so whether the figures are gross or net of discounts, and whether they include the state and local sales tax the buyer pays, is not stated. A checked negative, not an omission. An undocumented basis is a gap to be labelled, never filled in with the most likely answer.
Basis — Metrc weights and counts by month, vendor-reported
- Measurement
- vendor_reported
- Money
- not_applicable
- Tax
- not_applicable
- Period
- calendar_month
- Scope
- retail_only
- Geography
- statewide
- Channels
- medical
Why an axis above reads unstated: Full-text search of the vendor page for 'after tax', 'before tax', 'discount', 'gross', 'methodolog', 'month in which', 'net of', 'remit' and 'sales month' returns zero hits on each. The page carries a legal disclaimer and no methodology, so whether the figures are gross or net of discounts, and whether they include the state and local sales tax the buyer pays, is not stated. A checked negative, not an omission. An undocumented basis is a gap to be labelled, never filled in with the most likely answer.
Basis — SQ788 excise and state and local sales tax, by the month OMMA labels the row
- Measurement
- measured
- Money
- unstated
- Tax
- not_applicable
- Period
- filing_period
- Scope
- retail_only
- Geography
- statewide
- Channels
- medical
Why an axis above reads unstated: Full-text search of OMMA's licensing and tax page for 'after tax', 'before tax', 'discount', 'gross', 'methodolog', 'month in which', 'net of', 'remit' and 'sales month' returns zero hits on each. Its tax FAQ states the rate and what the money funds and says nothing about what the 7% is charged on, so gross-versus-net and tax-inclusive-versus-exclusive are both unstated. A checked negative. An undocumented basis is a gap to be labelled, never filled in with the most likely answer.
Basis — Retail sales implied by the SQ788 excise, on the month OMMA labels the row
- Measurement
- tax_derived
- Money
- unstated
- Tax
- unstated
- Period
- filing_period
- Scope
- retail_only
- Geography
- statewide
- Channels
- medical
Why an axis above reads unstated: Full-text search of OMMA's licensing and tax page for 'after tax', 'before tax', 'discount', 'gross', 'methodolog', 'month in which', 'net of', 'remit' and 'sales month' returns zero hits on each. Its tax FAQ states the rate and what the money funds and says nothing about what the 7% is charged on, so gross-versus-net and tax-inclusive-versus-exclusive are both unstated. A checked negative. An undocumented basis is a gap to be labelled, never filled in with the most likely answer.
Derivation. retail = sq788_excise / rate Error: Exact given the rate, which is read from OMMA's own FAQ sentence on every run rather than hardcoded. The uncertainty is in the period label and in what the rate is charged on, not in the arithmetic..
Basis — Patient, caregiver and commercial licence counts, as of the last day of the period
- Measurement
- measured
- Money
- not_applicable
- Tax
- not_applicable
- Period
- point_in_time
- Scope
- retail_only
- Geography
- statewide
- Channels
- medical
Sources 3
| Role | Source | Format | From | Last verified | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canonical | OMMA Dashboard - NCS Analytics Transparency Project NCS Analytics Vendor data, not state-published | html | rolling | 2026-08-17 | Delaware's entry in SOURCE_CONTRACT 3.10 leaves this same vendor's scope `unstated`, because the caption defines the combined total and says nothing about the per-channel columns. Oklahoma resolves it with a measurement Delaware did not have: the vendor's separately captioned product table, whose own caption says RETAIL, decomposes the Medicinal column - 2026-07: categories $55,517,957 against a published $55,529,594, $11,637 apart (0.0209564%) and 2026-08: categories $51,241,331 against a published $51,241,330, $1 apart (0.0000020%). |
| Cross-check | OMMA Licensing and Tax Data - tax tables Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority | html | 2018-10 | 2026-08-17 | Never averaged with the canonical figure. matched same-month across 7 months the ratio runs 0.895 to 1.071 (spread 0.176); matched against the PREVIOUS month across 6 pairs it runs 0.929 to 0.986 (spread 0.056), a band 3.1 times tighter. Matched same-month, the band straddles 1.000 - of the 7 months, 5 run low and 2 run high. Matched against the previous sales month, all 6 pairs run below 1.000. On the vendor's calendar-year totals, over the 3 years in which BOTH sides cover the whole year (2023, 2024 and 2025), the implied figure runs 1.053 to 1.253 of the vendor's, and all 3 years run above 1.000. The annual grain and the lag-1 monthly fit fall on opposite sides of 1.000. The same-month band is not one-signed, so there is no sign there to set against the annual grain. The ratio is monitored on that basis and never used to correct either series. |
| Cross-check | OMMA Licensing and Tax Data - licensing tables Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority | html | 2019-12 | 2026-08-17 | Never averaged with the canonical figure. 4 of 4 commercial licence types agree exactly between the vendor's card and OMMA's own census as of 2026-09-01. |
Why each marker above says what it says
| Metric | Marker | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Retail sales | Partly comparable | Oklahoma's headline sales come from a private vendor's dashboard that OMMA links from its own page and does not serve. Every chart, tile and tooltip carrying it is labelled as vendor data. The state publishes a second, deeper figure of its own - retail implied by the 7% excise, back to October 2018 - on a period whose meaning OMMA does not define. It appears on Oklahoma's own page with its own label, is never averaged with this one, and is kept off the cross-state axes. Measured against this series: across 7 overlapping months the implied figure runs 0.895 to 1.071 of the vendor's same-month, and 0.929 to 0.986 of the PREVIOUS month's across 6 pairs - a band 3.1 times tighter. The vendor exposes only a rolling window of months, so this line starts at February 2026 however long Oklahoma's market has run. |
| Medical / adult-use split | Single-channel market | Medical only, and a single-channel market is a category rather than a hundred-per-cent medical share. Oklahoma has no licensed adult-use retail: every licence type either publisher names is prefixed "Medical", and OMMA's own tax FAQ calls the SQ 788 levy an excise for retail medical marijuana sales. |
| Price per gram | Not like-for-like | No price per gram is published or derivable. The dollars table gives Infused Pre-Roll and Pre-Roll Flower categories of their own, so the dollar basket demonstrably separates them from Flower & Buds. The pounds table's whole published definition is its caption - "Flower Sold at Retailers, The pounds of flower sold by dispensaries over time." - which does not say whether that flower includes the flower inside a pre-roll. Dividing one by the other would assume the two baskets match, and ANCHORS 5 pins the estate standard at whole bud precisely because that assumption moves the answer. Blocked until ok_flower_basket is resolved, whatever the status above says. |
| Per capita | Partly comparable | Per-capita inherits every flag on its numerator, and Oklahoma's numerator is vendor-reported on an undocumented money and tax basis. Oklahoma's headline sales come from a private vendor's dashboard that OMMA links from its own page and does not serve. Every chart, tile and tooltip carrying it is labelled as vendor data. |
| Patient counts | Partly comparable | OMMA publishes a point-in-time count of active patient licences as of the last day of the period - the same measure as Maryland's registered patients, and not the District's cumulative registrations. Two hedges belong on it. OMMA's own FAQ attaches the word "typically" to that mapping rather than stating it as a rule. And the series is not one-directional: over its 80 month-on-month steps it rises 31 times and falls 49, peaking in April 2022, because patient licences expire as well as being issued. A count that goes down looks exactly like a collector fault and is not one. |
| Licence counts | Partly comparable | Counts of active licences as of the last day of the period, from OMMA's own census. The vendor publishes the same four commercial types and they agree exactly on the newest edition, so the state figure is used and the vendor's is the check. OMMA's own Total column also counts patients and caregivers, so it is not a business-licence count and never enters one. |
| Tax revenue | Partly comparable | The 7% SQ 788 excise on retail medical sales, as received. OMMA does not say what month its Month column names, and the evidence points at the month of remittance rather than the month of sale, which would put every Oklahoma point one month away from the District's and Maryland's. Until OMMA answers, this stays off the cross-state tax axis. The state and local sales tax OMMA publishes beside it is a separate column on a rate that, in OMMA's own words, "varies by municipality and county", and is not folded in. Blocked until ok_month_semantics is resolved, whatever the status above says. |
What is checked on every run 6
| Check | Kind | Last result |
|---|---|---|
| OMMA publishes a per-year roll-up beneath each accordion. ANCHORS 5 says never take the roll-up where row-level data exists - sum the rows and check the roll-up - and this is that check, on both published columns of every year. | identity | 17 of 18 year-column cells reconcile to the dollar across 9 published years and both columns. The 2026 State & Local roll-up, off by $227,656 across 8 months, is the exception. |
| The vendor's product-category table is an independent decomposition of its own monthly retail figure, and its caption is the only place either publisher uses the word RETAIL about that column. This check is what licenses the `retail_only` scope flag on the canonical basis. | identity | 2026-07: categories $55,517,957 against a published $55,529,594, $11,637 apart (0.0209564%) and 2026-08: categories $51,241,331 against a published $51,241,330, $1 apart (0.0000020%) |
| OMMA's licensing table carries its own Total column, summing patients, caregivers and every commercial type. | identity | 77 of 81 licensing editions have a Total that equals the sum of their own columns; the other 4 differ by at most 35 licences, OMMA's arithmetic as published. |
| The one number both publishers state independently: the vendor's licence-by-type card against OMMA's own census. | cross source reconciliation | 4 of 4 commercial licence types agree exactly between the vendor's card and OMMA's own census as of 2026-09-01 |
| The two Oklahoma sales figures against each other, at both offsets. Monitored, never used to correct either series and never averaged. | cross source reconciliation | matched same-month across 7 months the ratio runs 0.895 to 1.071 (spread 0.176); matched against the PREVIOUS month across 6 pairs it runs 0.929 to 0.986 (spread 0.056), a band 3.1 times tighter. |
| The pounds of flower sold at retail, and the harvest and wet-weight series beside it. | unchecked | Not cross-checked. Nothing in either source decomposes or restates them. OMMA publishes no weight at all and the vendor publishes each figure once, so there is no second view to test them against. Unlike this state's dollar figures, which have two independent publishers and a category decomposition, these are single-sourced and the page says so rather than implying equal rigour. |
The regulator's own notes, and what is still open
The regulator's own notes
The reporting date is the date the OMMA shared this data. The reporting data typically shows licensing totals as of the last day of the previous month. Example: A reporting date of May 1, 2022, would include data totals from April 2022.
— OMMA, Licensing and Tax Data, FAQ: What is the reporting date?
The SQ 788 excise tax is for retail medical marijuana sales. It is 7% and is collected at the point of sale.
— OMMA, Licensing and Tax Data, FAQ: What is the SQ 788 tax and how much is it?
This varies by municipality and county. Local voters set their own county and municipal sales tax rates. There is also a statewide sales tax for the State of Oklahoma government. OMMA does not receive state or local sales tax revenue.
— OMMA, Licensing and Tax Data, FAQ: What percentage is the state and local tax?
Total Reported Sales Analyzed, Total Reported Sales combines all reported sales, including retail sales transactions as well as wholesale purchases if provided. Note: Metrc data only became available starting in June 2022.
— NCS Analytics, Oklahoma Transparency Project, caption of the Total Reported Sales table
Flower Sold at Retailers, The pounds of flower sold by dispensaries over time.
— NCS Analytics, Oklahoma Transparency Project, caption of the Flower Sold at Retailers table
The moratorium does not affect current licensees, who can apply for renewal.
— OMMA, Licensing and Tax Data, FAQ: Can OMMA place a cap on licenses?
OMMA's licensing FAQ states that a moratorium on new dispensary, grower and processor licences began Aug. 26, 2022 under HB 3208 (2022), and that HB 2095 (2023) extended its end date to Aug. 1, 2026, unless OMMA's Executive Director determines all pending licensing reviews, inspections or investigations are complete. Those dates are read off OMMA's page on every run, not written into this site. OMMA does not publish whether the moratorium in fact ran to that date or ended earlier under that condition, and this site does not infer either: a count of active licences is not evidence of the moratorium's force. Measured against the 81 licensing editions this file publishes: 32 fall before the moratorium began, 48 inside the window OMMA states, and 1 after its statutory end date. — This site, derived from OMMA's own moratorium FAQ on every run
Open questions on this data
Unresolved definitional questions that gate something. Listed because a question nobody can see is a question nobody closes.
- Is the Month column of OMMA's tax table the month the sales happened, or the month the tax was remitted? Blocks: tax_revenue. Closing it needs: Email OMMACommunications@omma.ok.gov - the address OMMA gives on this page for exactly this kind of question - and ask which month the column names. Until it is answered the tax series stays off the cross-state tax axis and the tax-implied sales series stays off the cross-state sales chart, appearing only on Oklahoma's own page with its label.
- What is in the vendor's 'Flower & Buds' dollar category, and what is in the flower its pounds-sold table measures? Are they the same set of products? Blocks: price_per_gram. Closing it needs: Ask NCS Analytics, or OMMA which links the dashboard, for the definitions of both. A price per gram becomes derivable the moment the two baskets are confirmed to match and to exclude pre-rolls; until then no price is published.